Media Center Media Center

Meeting of India-Bangladesh Joint Boundary Working Group

November 11, 2010

  • The 4th India-Bangladesh Joint Boundary Working Group (JBWG) Meeting was held in New Delhi on November 10-11, 2010. The Indian delegation was led by Shri T.S. Tirumurti, Joint Secretary (BSM), Ministry of External Affairs, Government of the Republic of India and the Bangladesh delegation was led by Dr. Kamal Uddin Ahmed, Joint Secretary (Political), Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh.
  • The JBWG was set up in December 2000 to resolve matters relating to the demarcation of the undemarcated boundary between India and Bangladesh and other outstanding issues pertaining to the territories in Adverse Possession (AP), Enclaves and also erection of permanent boundary pillars where necessary on the demarcated boundary. The Group first met in July 2001 and has held three earlier meetings.
  • In January 2010, during the visit of Prime Minister of Bangladesh to India, both the Prime Ministers of India and Bangladesh agreed to comprehensively address all outstanding issues keeping in view the spirit of the 1974 Land Boundary Agreement (LBA). They had also agreed to convene the JBWG to take the process forward.
  • The 4th meeting of JBWG discussed all outstanding issues pertaining to the land boundary in a cordial and friendly atmosphere, with a view to arriving at a comprehensive solution.
  • Both sides expressed satisfaction at the recent electrification of Dahagram and Angarpota of Bangladesh.
  • With a view to implementing the decision to allow 24-hour unfettered access through Tin Bigha Corridor to Bangladesh nationals, both sides agreed to put in place all necessary arrangements, including infrastructure and security, expeditiously.
  • Both sides agreed to work constructively towards resolving differences to demarcate the land boundary in all three undemarcated segments i.e. Daikhata-56, Lathitilla-Dumabari and Muhuri River (Belonia).
  • Both sides recalled the observations made during joint visits to enclaves and Adverse Possessions in May 2007 and agreed that the issues of Enclaves and APs should be addressed in a pragmatic manner.
  • Both sides expressed satisfaction that mutually reconciled list of enclaves have already been prepared and signed. There are 111 Indian enclaves in Bangladesh and 51 Bangladeshi enclaves in India. Both sides agreed to jointly take steps necessary to facilitate the process of exchange of these enclaves to their respective countries.
  • As regards territories under Adverse Possession, both sides agreed that there was a need to find pragmatic solution to the issue keeping in mind the spirit of Land Boundary Agreement and also in the light of ground realities. With a view to facilitating a solution, they agreed to jointly assess the areas in the lines of the joint exercise undertaken in 1996-97. As a part of this understanding, both sides agreed to take up the APLs along Meghalaya – Bangladesh Border on a priority basis. They reaffirmed that pending resolution of outstanding boundary issues, there should be no disturbance of the status quo and peaceful conditions shall be maintained in the border regions as stipulated in Article 3 of LBA. Both sides welcomed the understanding and cooperation between BSF and BDR on maintaining peace and tranquility in the border areas, especially in APLs, until the outstanding issues are resolved.
  • Both sides expressed satisfaction at the progress made during the JBWG meeting and described it an important and positive step towards resolving all the outstanding boundary issues. They agreed to meet in Dhaka at a mutually convenient time. The Bangladesh delegation thanked Government of India for the warm hospitality.

New Delhi


Post A Comment

  • Name *
    E-mail *
  • Write Your Comment *
  • Verification Code * Verification Code