Media Center

Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards-2017

January 09, 2017

The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA) is the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians. PBSA is conferred by the Hon’ble President of India as a part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas Conventions organized annually since 2003 on Non-Resident Indians, Persons of Indian Origin or an organization or institution established and run by the Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin in recognition of their outstanding achievements both in India and abroad.

The 14th edition of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) Convention was held in Bengaluru from 7-9 January, 2017. The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards were conferred by the Hon’ble President at the PBD Convention on 9 January, 2017 in the valedictory session of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas celebrations in an impressive ceremony.

A 11-member Jury-cum-Awards Committee, with Hon’ble Vice-President as Chairman and Hon’ble External Affairs as Vice-Chairman and nine other distinguished members from various walks of life, considered the nominations for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Awards, 2017 and had unanimously thirty nominees. Ms. Nisha Desai Biswal, Assistant Secretary of State, Department of State, delivered the acceptance speech on behalf of the awardees.

The list of thirty awardees is as follows:

PBS Awardees-2017

S.No. Name Country Field
1. Dr. Gorur Krishna Harinath Australia Community Service
2. Rajasekharan Pillai Valavoor Kizhakkathil Bahrain Business
3. Antwerp Indian Association Belgium Community Service
4. Nazeer Ahamed Mohamed Zackiriah Brunei Community Service
5. Mukund Bhikhubhai Purohit Canada Business
6. Nalinkumar Sumanlal Kothari Djibouti Community Service
7. Vinod Chandra Patel Fiji Social Service
8. Raghunath Marie Antonin Manet France Arts & Culture
9. Dr. Lael Anson E. Best Israel Medical Science
10. Dr. Sandip Kumar Tagore Japan Arts & Culture
11. Ariful Islam Libya Community Service
12. Tan Sri Dato Dr. Muniandy Thambirajah Malaysia Education and Community
13. Hon’ble Pravind Kumar Jugnauth Mauritius Public Service
14. H.E. Mr. Antonio Luis Santos da Costa Portugal Public Service
15. Dr. Raghavan Seetharaman Qatar Business Management
16. Zeenat Musarrat Jafri Saudi Arabia Education
17. Singapore Indian Association Singapore Community Service
18. Dr. Carani Balaraman Sanjeevi Sweden Medicine
19. Susheel Kumar Saraff Thailand Business
20. Winston Chandarbhan Dookeran Trinidad & Tobago Public Service
21. Vasudev Shamdas Shroff United Arab Emirates Community Service
22. India Social and Cultural Centre, Abu Dhabi United Arab Emirates Philanthropy and Community Service
23. Rt. Hon’ble Priti Patel United Kingdom Public Service
24. Neena Gill United Kingdom Public Service
25. Hari Babu Bindal USA Environmental Engineering
26. Dr. Bharat Haridas Barai USA Community Service
27. Nisha Desai Biswal USA Public Affairs
28. Dr. Mahesh Mehta USA Community Service
29. Ramesh Shah USA Community Service
30. Dr. Sampatkumar Shidramapa Shivangi USA Community Leadership

Click here for Tamil versionTamil.pdf
Click here for Malayalam version Malayalam.pdf
Click here for Bengali versionBengali .pdf
Write a Comment Write a Comment

Post A Comment

  • Name *
    E-mail *
  • Write Your Comment *
  • Verification Code * Verification Code