Media Center Media Center

Fourth East Asia Summit (EAS) Conference on Maritime Security Cooperation

February 04, 2020

  • As announced by the Prime Minister of India at the 14th East Asia Summit (EAS) in Bangkok in November 2019, the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA), Government of India in partnership with the Governments of Australia and Indonesia will organize the fourth EAS Conference on Maritime Security Cooperation in Chennai on 6-7 February 2020. The National Maritime Foundation (NMF) and the Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS) are the knowledge partners of the Conference.
  • ​As a nation deeply committed to strengthening the EAS as an ASEAN-led organization, India continues to contribute positively to the EAS goals including maritime security cooperation. This Conference is the fourth in a series of EAS Maritime Security Conferences organized by the Government of India; the first Conference was organized in New Delhi in November 2015, the second in Goa in November 2016 and the third in Bhubaneswar in June 2018.
  • ​Senior officials and experts from the EAS participating countries will deliberate upon various aspects of maritime security cooperation under five thematic sessions; namely Holistic Maritime Security, Maritime Safety, Transition to a Regional Blue Economy, India's Indo-Pacific Oceans' Initiative and the Way Forward. These sessions will be interactive in nature.
  • ​More than 100 participants are expected to attend the Conference including about 50 delegates nominated by the EAS participating countries; MEA officials; officials from Indian Navy, RIS and NMF; and academicians and research scholars.
  • ​The Conference is expected to serve as a platform for free and open dialogue among all the EAS partners on various issues of maritime security cooperation and to come up with useful suggestions on tackling in a cooperative manner, the challenges in the maritime domain.
New Delhi
February 04, 2020

Post A Comment

  • Name *
    E-mail *
  • Write Your Comment *
  • Verification Code * Verification Code