Media Center

Clarification regarding registration of non-ECR passport holders travelling for work to 18 ECR countries

January 03, 2020

Reports in Media and various Social Media platforms suggesting that the Government of India had made it mandatory for registration of all emigrants (Both ECR and Non-ECR Passport holders) to register at the website, before undertaking a travel to any of the designated 18 countries for work are incorrect. There is no change in the existing policy. Only ECR passport holders and nurses travelling to these designated18 countries for work are required to obtain Emigration clearance through Emigrate system . Non-ECR passport holders travelling to these countries for work may register voluntarily in the Emigrate system.

As a special case, persons going to Iraq for employment after 30 September 2019, irrespective of the Passport category they hold, need to take clearance from Emigrate. While considering granting Emigration clearance to any of the ECR countries, MEA travel advisories is also considered.

The 18 countries for which emigration clearance is required for ECR passport holders and nurses travelling for work are as follows: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Sudan , South Sudan, Syria, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

New Delhi
January 03, 2020

Write a Comment Write a Comment

Post A Comment

  • Name *
    E-mail *
  • Write Your Comment *
  • Verification Code * Verification Code